Marraine’s Potato Leek Soup

Marraine is a french word for godmother, but she wasn’t, she was my grandmother. Molly Corbet was my grandfather’s second wife. They were Belgian. His first wife died of breast cancer when my mom was in her late 20’s. After moving to the States during World War II, my mom and her American soldier fiance, my dad, got married. At first, my grandfather would send us care packages of Belgian chocolate (usually Cote D’Or). A few years later my Belgian grandparents moved to the States. They often stayed at our house when I was a child and cooked many wonderful things. Soups, breads, custards, salad dressings, and more.

Potato leek soup is a simple soup and definitely a comfort food. Depending on the quantity needed, you can adjust the amount of potatoes and leeks up or down. The batch I made is for about 10 servings.

6 medium-large white potatoes

3 leeks (white part only)

One yellow onion for extra flavor (optional)

2 tsp. kosher salt

1 tsp. white pepper

Peel and cut the potatoes into chunks and cook in boiling water until cooked through. Wash and cut the leeks into thin (1/4″) medallions, add thinly sliced yellow onion, if desired, and saute in 2-3 tablespoons of butter. Let them get soft but not brown. Once the potatoes are done, pour off half of the water, save the rest. Add the sauteed onion and leeks to the potatoes/water. Add 2 teaspoons of kosher salt and a teaspoon of white pepper. Use an immersion blender to puree the entire mixture. Or you can use a food processor or blender. (You can save a few pieces of sauteed leeks and stir them in after pureeing the soup to give it a different texture.)

Serve in a soup bowl. My grandmother would float a small pat of butter on top of the soup. Wait until it starts to melt and then dive in!

One thought on “Marraine’s Potato Leek Soup

  1. I added about a teaspoon of half and half to my little bowl, because I was feeling dangerous! However, I also liked it just plain with a sprinkle of kosher salt. I should’ve tried the pat of butter!

Leave a Reply

